Women’s Golf – Maggie Waterman Memorial Tournament

June gloom arrived on June Funday and the low marine layer continued for seven holes until there were patches of blue sky; the sun greeted us on the ninth hole.

The game of the day was a scramble, won by team #2 (Judy Boitano, Val Mitchell, India Rouse, Terri Matrisch, and Liz Kelsch). Other winners: closest to the pin on # 8, Liz, longest drive, Val, and birdie, Judy.

Niguel Shores Women’s Golf has been in existence since 1984. One of our founding members, Maggie Waterman, played her last game several years later. In about 1990 the Maggie Waterman Memorial Tournament was established in her memory and honor. Since then more of our members have passed on to that great Fairway in the sky. The name was changed to the Annual Memorial

Tournament. The 22nd will be played on July 14. Our Heavenly Golfers in alphabetical order: (*indicates charter member) Beverly Auld, Bernice Bonestell, LaVonne Borland, Roselyn Bressell, Fern Brooks, Lorraine Bruns, Peggy Bucci* Marge D’Amico, Marge Dea, Millie Deffebach, Fran Magwood Ewing,* J. A. Goodman,* Marguerite Horne, Rose Marie Lawson,* Betty Lewis, Phyllis Luengen, Betty Mullen, Marian Pearl, Jane Pendergast, Louise Pretzinger, Gretchen Rask, Lydia Reeve, Cecily Scroggins, Evelyn Stevens, Billie Teachout, and Lucy Van Elzakker. After the tournament the fallen are honored with toasts at the luncheon.

Golf captains on tournament day will be Lee Sweeney and Marlene Lynch. Luncheon captains are Ruth Stahl and Joan Beyer. August golf captains are Barbara Brabeck (493-9399) and Joanne Webb. (498-5329) Call them to cancel or join the game of the day. Our ranks have dwindled. Any new takers?

Did you know: A good drive on the last hole has stopped many a golfer from giving up the game!

— Liz Kelsch


Leave a Reply